Denominational Discernment

The UMC is splitting?

Yes. There have been calls for separation for years, particularly regarding issues relating to LGBTQ marriage and ordination rites. There was hope in early 2020 of a separation that could be amicable. I believe it was the Holy Spirit who prompted Bishop John Yambasu of the Sierra Leone Annual Conference to call together leaders at different ends of the theological spectrum for the purpose of reaching a healthy separation. The Protocol for Grace and Reconciliation through Separation, known simply as The Protocol, was the result of this call and much expert mediation. Traditionalist leaders sought to continue the church’s prohibition on LGBTQ marriages and ordinations in the UMC. Progressive leaders sought to remove such prohibitions… 

This was a snippet from our booklet that was sent out. If you did not receive that booklet or would like an online copy…


Paragraph 2553
Call to Prayer
A letter from our Bishop


Video 1
Progressive vs Traditional
Video 2
General Conference
Video 3
Video 4
A Man, a Plan, and a Vote
Video 5
Reviewing Options
Video 6
What's Next?

CLT Members

Church Leadership Team Officers

Johnnie Hargrove


Steve Smith


Linda Akenhead

Recording Secretary

JoAnn Gardner

Asst. Recording Secretary

Church Staff Members of the CLT

Dr. Rev. Byron Vance

Senior Pastor

Bill Crosby

Associate Pastor

Brittany Camp

Associate Pastor

Joe Vonderheide

Assoc. Pastor & Dir. of Student Min

Coy Hallmark

Associate Pastor

June Wilson

Associate Pastor

Sallie Colwick

Associate Pastor

Jillian Gardner

Director of Music

Eliza Spearman

Director of Family Ministry

Jamie Chance

Director of Children Ministry

Jill Gardner

Church Administrator

Ex – Officio Members

Richard Webb

Church Lay Leader

Amy Epps

Lay Members to Annual Con.

Art Hargrove

Lay Members to Annual Con.

Mary Ena Heath

Lay Members to Annual Con.

Kathy Rains

Lay Members to Annual Con.

Kay Jacobson


Bo Harrison

Rep, Committee of Finance

Loren Gross

Church Treasurer

Quimby Rains

Rep, Board of Trustees

Warne Heath

Rep, Staff-Parish Relation

Nancy Van Valkenburgh

Rep, Nominations Committee

Sheila Irby

Rep, United Methodist Women


Rep, United Methodist Men

Andrew Dillard

Rep, United Methodist Youth

Pat Moore

Rep, Older Adult

Doni Harrison

Stewardship Chair

Mary Ena Heath

Go Committee Chair

At – Large Members

Derrick Simpson, Howard Fry, Trina Waites


Robert La Branche, Vann Bragg, James Sweeney


Don Colbath, Sarah Lauren Kattos, Steve Cragon


120 Greene Street  |  Huntsville, AL 35801  |  256-539-5738

120 Greene Street
Huntsville, AL 35801